Leaders of the Orchestra

Lisa Wigmore 2012 - Present

Lisa Wigmore was born in Eastbourne and educated locally. At the age of 15 she was awarded a Junior Exhibition to study the violin at the junior hdepartment of The Royal College of Music and then continued with her studies at senior level under Professor Jack Steadman. After leaving the RCM Lisa continued her studies under Tina Gruenberg. Lisa was invited to participate in a masterclass led by Yfrah Neaman on behalf of the European String Teachers Association (ESTA)

Lisa is now a sought after teacher and is the Strings Advisor to the Eastbourne Music and Arts Festival. She has been the leader of the Eastbourne Symphony Orchestra since 1984 and has been on the adjudication panel for the prestigious ESO Young Soloist Award since its inception. She also carries out freelance engagements and plays for many orchestras throughout East Sussex and has recently played for the British Philharmonic Concert Orchestra.

Katherine Adams 2008 - 2012

Helen Browne (Guest Leader) 2007 - 2008

Jennifer Shepherd 2006 - 2007

Sheila Beckensall 1996 - 2006

John Greensmith 1993 - 1996